Vietnam Era Equipment/Weapon Suggestions and Questions

Forum for those interested in accurate Vietnam impressions and re-enactment using Airsoft. This is not a political or historical section, discussions will be limited to the gear and guns appropriate for the era and theme based games.

Moderator: THE ARCHANGEL

K9Troop
MS40 Rangers

Vietnam Era Equipment/Weapon Suggestions and Questions

Post by K9Troop » Tue Nov 14, 2006 12:21 am

Wanted to start this not because I'm a subject matter expert, on the contrary. I just have a question about gear and I'm hoping someone can answer it.

Will M14/.308 mags fit in the old school LBE/LCE M16 mag pouches? I want to start compiling my H Harness rig and I need to know before I go purchase.

I'll be rockin' the M14 for my Vietnam Era loadout as I vomit profusely at the sight an A1. Long story, I'll share sometime...
MS40 Rangers
MAA Member #57
BATC Honor Grad 04-06
American Made Soul-jah

Erik
MAA Member

Post by Erik » Tue Nov 14, 2006 6:45 am

If by "old school" you mean the M1956 "universal" ammo pouches your answer is yes. This is what most US Army troops used.

The SF used the BAR belt as well to carry ammo, however in all of my research I can find very little evidence that the SF used the M14, it seems they preferred the M16. (For arguments about this please create a separate thread).
110% PureBred Professional GunFighter
Team PALADIN
BATC Commandant
MAA Plank Owner
MAA Safety Officer 2001-2012
United States Army 1988-2000

Tank
Team PALADIN

Post by Tank » Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:36 am

It was also rather common for guys to get an extra canteen pouch and use it for a mag pouch.
MAA Member Number: 47
Team PALADIN
MAA BATC Instructor / Cadre

K9Troop
MS40 Rangers

Post by K9Troop » Tue Nov 14, 2006 10:20 am

Erik wrote:If by "old school" you mean the M1956 "universal" ammo pouches your answer is yes. This is what most US Army troops used.